Ness wins award

by robertmcnicol

So as you know I’m a big believer in coincidence – I believe that sometimes, often in fact, two or more things that are otherwise related happen near each other, temporally speaking. Like when the phone rings and you’re thinking about Auntie Joan and OH MY GOD SERIOUSLY it’s Auntie Joan on the phone and not only that but JUST THAT MORNING Auntie Joan sent you a text message saying she was going to call later!!!!!! I mean, it happens.

So there I was, merrily reading my new drunken book purchase and enjoying it a great deal. It’s called The Knife of Never Letting Go and it really is very good – the second in a short line of books that I’ve read recently that were written for the Young Adult readership, which really means teenagers, after Summerland, by Michael Chabon which I discussed briefly here. Anyways, TKoNLG is by a Mr Patrick Ness, who has a website and a disarmingly cute smile and now – as of last night, to be precise – a shiny new Guardian Children’s Fiction Prize.

Uh huh. Yep. See? I was reading Mr Ness’s book and he won an award for it! That, my friends, is a coincidence.

Just think about that for a minute.

Done? Really? Because I think you just kept on reading. Well, suit yourselves. Anyways, I’ll post a proper review once I’ve finished the book. I can, by the way, recommend Mr Ness’s other two books as being both Very Good Reads.

